Cultural Identity

There is a great myth surrounding my type of immigrant family. Rosy cheeked and bright eyed, we arrive on the shores of the New World full of the promise of opportunity. Percolating with spicy foods, strange poultices for every ailment, and wise sayings, we are stitched into a multicultural quilt and, it is assumed, raise children with two perfectly intertwined identities. Yet for years, I fluctuated between Chinese and American, unsure of where I fit.

I see myself, bleary eyed, stumbling out of the Dulles airport terminal, still foreign to the world, even more foreign to America. I see my Dad giving me my first Barbie, feel my adoration of her “blue eyes and blonde hair, marks of the beginning of my obsession. I touched her shyly, marveling at her beautiful, delicate features, so different from my mother’s paper dolls. Quickly, those dolls were hidden away in a flurry of hot tears and embarrassment after my first friend dubbed them “stupid Chinese trash.”
From that instant, I lusted after American culture. After pancakes, Disney princesses, and Saturday morning cartoons. I pinched my flat Asian nose every day in hopes of it one day standing higher, taller, prouder. As if my nose could scream “I’m American!” any better than my jet black hair could.

Quickly, I began to realize my frenzied Americanization was impossible. My tables were laden with Chinese foods and math workbooks to be done after school. I gave my Sundays, with the deepest dread and loathing, over to endless Chinese classes that screamed I was not American. I spent much of my pre-adolescent years drowning in the abyss of my unknown, unwanted culture- and it didn’t stare back.

I began to grow up. My parents began telling me stories, not ones of beautiful princesses in sweeping gowns, but their own. My background and narrative transitioned to one of immersion rather than erasure, and I began to piece together my own quilt.
My mother told me one of her first memories was my grandmother eating dirt to fill her belly so the last of the flour could be distributed amongst her children. My parents, hailing from the dirt-poor mountains of rural China, were both on the younger end of their large families. The sole gas lamp was given to the eldest siblings and my parents got up at sunrise to finish their homework. The only school was a six mile walk away, and with China’s entrance exam system for college, higher education seemed impossible. Yet my parents persisted, and went to a graduate school with a 1 in 1000 acceptance rate. They worked so I could have the privilege of growing up elsewhere, offered a blank page untainted by their scorched past or brutal education systems. During my year abroad, I visited their hometowns, touched the crumbling walls of their childhood homes and sat in their rickety beds. Living in a foreign land for a year versus traveling there for a few weeks gave me a unique understanding of Chinese culture, of my background, that I never had before.

One year ago, I became a U.S. citizen and my epiphany struck. My environment did not define me. The “American” that I so desperately pursued is a mindset, a philosophy, something undefinable by how I dressed, what I ate, or the fads in which I indulged. America is a place of reinvention, of second chances, somewhere anyone with ambition and wit can succeed. Uniquely poised, I will finish my own quilt, the voice of my past still resonating in the hopes of my future.

2 thoughts on “Cultural Identity

  1. lily我想说你是幸运的。你的父母是伟大的,给你带来很好的环境,这个被子虽然是多元的,但是要比其他的被子更加漂亮,更加的温暖。而相比我的被子可能就单薄一些了,我的父母就是999/1000里面的,他们高中毕业就去工作了,卖豆腐,掏大粪,粗活累活都干过就是为了生活,你可能不知道,我爸爸家里有6个兄弟姐妹,在那个艰苦的环境下,吃一碗水煮面条都是幸福的,一年就吃一回肉就是饺子了。我从小学习他们都不管不顾,因为他们不懂得教育,甚至也不关心。我的成绩一直是班里倒数的,直到我上了高中,我才意识到学习的重要性。都说父母是孩子的镜子,父母对你的影响,给予你的帮助是巨大的。美国是让人向往的地方,很好的学习环境,先进的技术,也是世界上最发达的国家。我想身为美国人都是引以为豪的。
    然而中国在这30到40年里发生了巨大的变化,人民再也不愁温饱问题,而是追求生活质量。高考升学率90%多,大学生考研出国留学也成了热门,各个地方通了高铁,我们的生活发生了翻天覆地的变化。中国的技术也开始开源,工业也追求工匠精神,我们的航天员在宇宙生活了30天,中国也成为世界第二经济体。同时我们也为非洲国家,一些贫困的国家给予无偿的帮助,在国际舞台也有很大的影响力。我们之前是很落后,但是我们也很努力,很勤奋,我们的进步世界是认可的。
    前几天我看见一篇新闻,一个印度尼西亚的女孩,他说她前几年在国内说汉语是会被嘲笑的,因为中国很落后,不过这几年她说她说汉语是让人羡慕的事情,因为中国强大了…我不清楚人的逻辑为什么这么乱,一个国家强大与落后我们都应该平等的去看待,去尊重对方嘛?为什么自己的国民说别的国家的语言会换来嘲笑?而不是这个人会说两种语言而值得敬佩呢?
    人往高处走,水往低处流。我们的志向和追求永远是向上的,我们的文化虽有不同,但是人的特性还是一致的,不管你盖什么样的被子,我们生活的摩天轮依然转着。

    Like

Leave a Reply

